The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   on a fast break? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20415-fast-break.html)

refTN Wed May 18, 2005 10:50am

This is for a 3-man crew situation:

A1 shoots and misses and B1 rebounds and quickly takes it the other way.

I was told by a D-1 college official that the C has the responsibility to call everything from foul line extended on one end to foul line extended on the other end during a fast break, quick outlet, or pressing action.

A high school official told me in this case that it was the lead because he was in front of the play.

To me it makes more since for the C to take it because he supposed to run with the ball.

Who is right? Or are both right according to their respective levels?

BktBallRef Wed May 18, 2005 11:03am

The center.

The lead is transitioning to the other end. Making a call while looking over your shoulder shouldn't be done unless it's absolutely necessary. He should hustle to the baseline, while keeping an eye on what's going on behind him.

The center is moving with the ball from FT line to FT line.

FrankHtown Wed May 18, 2005 11:24am

I was taught that C, in transition, had top of key to top of key, all the way across the court, which means you may have to step on the court to sell a call on the far sideline.

South GA BBall Ref Wed May 18, 2005 05:21pm

The C has it all the way at both levels.

tomegun Thu May 19, 2005 06:48am

While the C does have the plays from sideline to sideline the C does not necessarily have the ball. It would probably be better to say the C has the pack in transition and from 3-point line to 3-point line during a press as long as the Trail has players he must watch further back in the backcourt.

I had a game on Sunday and my partner called a foul on a player around half-court on my side of the court. In this particular situation I had the ball as the trail since the press was broken and the other players were now moving up the court. From his angle he saw contact. From my angle, trailing the play, I saw that the defender and dribbler were going in straight lines up the court until the dribbler decided to move towards/slightly in front of the defender to initiate contact. Like previously discussed in another thread the defender did not do anything illegal. He didn't do anything except run up the court. If my partner would have noticed where the majority of the players were on this play he would have realized that I didn't have anyone else to look at so I had this play.

BktBallRef Thu May 19, 2005 07:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
While the C does have the plays from sideline to sideline the C does not necessarily have the ball. It would probably be better to say the C has the pack in transition and from 3-point line to 3-point line during a press as long as the Trail has players he must watch further back in the backcourt.
I didn't say that he has the ball. I said he is moving with the ball on a fast break.

Bart Tyson Thu May 19, 2005 08:32am

[QUOTE] From my angle, trailing the play, I saw that the defender and dribbler were going in straight lines up the court until the dribbler decided to move towards/slightly in front of the defender to initiate contact. Like previously discussed in another thread the defender did not do anything illegal. He didn't do anything except run up the court. QUOTE]

Tomegun, are you saying you wouldn't make the call because the dribbler initiated the contact or because the contact was not bad enough to call a foul based on the dribbler initiating the contact?

BktBallRef Thu May 19, 2005 08:34am

I think he's saying that the defender didn't foul. :)

Bart Tyson Thu May 19, 2005 08:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I think he's saying that the defender didn't foul. :)
This is just toooo simple of an answer. Totally not fair.

tomegun Thu May 19, 2005 08:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
I think he's saying that the defender didn't foul. :)
This is just toooo simple of an answer. Totally not fair.

I'll simplify it even more. The defender didn't do anything wrong.

The contact was called because the dribbler moved into/next to the defender's path. We will never know what the outcome of the contact would have been but it wouldn't be fair to call a foul on someone that didn't do anything. More than likely the dribbler would have had to live with the outcome of his actions. If I was to run all the scenarios (losing the ball, falling down, traveling, etc.) through my head I can't see where the defender would be at fault.

BktBallRef Thu May 19, 2005 01:42pm

Told ya, Bart. :p

Bart Tyson Thu May 19, 2005 01:51pm

OK, lets make it complicated. The defender does not have legal guarding position. I can see the dribbler initiating contact and we have a foul on the defender. I'm not refering to your play b/c I think you made it clear there was not a foul. I know you didn't say the following as a blanket statement, However, I don't think we can say anytime a dribbler initiates contact then we don't have a foul.

Jurassic Referee Thu May 19, 2005 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
OK, lets make it complicated. The defender does not have legal guarding position. I can see the dribbler initiating contact and we have a foul on the defender. I'm not refering to your play b/c I think you made it clear there was not a foul. I know you didn't say the following as a blanket statement, However, I don't think we can say anytime a dribbler initiates contact then we don't have a foul.
No, but I think that all Tom is saying is that in his <b>particular</b> situation the dribbler initiated the contact <b>illegally</b>, and he had a no-call on the play when his partner's whistle went--but if Tom had to call a foul, it woulda been on the dribbler. Maybe I'm reading it wrong, but it's a case where the dribbler and defender both established straight-line paths side-by-each, and then the dribbler veered out of his path either into or slightly in front of the defender. In cases like those, LGP basically doesn't mean everything. However, screening principles do apply to the dribbler. The dribbler has to give the defender room to stop- usually a maximum of 2 steps. FED casebook play 10.6.2SitB-COMMENT kinda lays out the principle. It's a HTBT type of play with regards as to whether you're gonna call a foul or not imo.

The other comment by Tom was legitimate too, I thought. He was trail and this play was in his primary. His partner at C reached across the floor to get the call. That one is a "wtf you doing,Willis" in the dressing room later.


Bart Tyson Thu May 19, 2005 03:39pm

I totally agree Mr. Jurassic Referee.

BktBallRef Thu May 19, 2005 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
However, I don't think we can say anytime a dribbler initiates contact then we don't have a foul.
I don't think anybody did. :confused:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1