The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 10, 2005, 03:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,020
Of course, the announcer is wrong. You should always assume that anything a TV commentator says is incorrect. You will be right far more frequently that way.

FYI, here are both the NCAA and NFHS rules:

NCAA

BR-143
RULE 10-8/FOULS AND PENALTIES
Art. 3. Using profanity or language that is abusive, vulgar or obscene.
A.R. 11. A1 is driving toward the basket when an official, while trailing the play and advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is sworn at by the coach of Team B. RULING: The official shall withhold the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the layup. The official then shall sound the whistle and assess the offending coach a direct technical foul, which could be flagrant.


NFHS

10.4.1 Situation E

Someone else will have to cut and paste this, as I don't have an electronic copy of the casebook.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1