The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 25, 2005, 07:07pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
JR and BZ:

I am glad that both of you know the definition of team control. But I am sorry, but NFHS Casebook Play 7.5.4(c) does not apply to this play because CB 7.5.4(c) involves a field goal attempt, not a throw-in. And while there is not team control during a throw-in, Team A's throw-in had not ended when the Dumba$$, I mean L, accidently sounded his whistle. There is no rule that allows the officials to go to the AP Arrow in this situation and possibly take the ball away from Team A. The L has to eat his whistle and tell Coach B that he screwed up and Team A keeps the ball for a throw-in.

Lets make this play even more interesting. Team A is winning the game by one point and the AP Arrow is pointing toward Team B's basket. Are you really going to give the ball to Team B for a throw-in with 3.6 seconds left in the game. I hope not.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1