The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 08, 2005, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally posted by socalreff
Quote:
Originally posted by NCAAREF
It is only a violation if the in the judgement of the official that the player went out of bounds on his or her own volition. The rule is not intended to penalize a player making a great play, such as saving a ball from going OB and his or her momentum takes them OB. That's still a good play.
The question is whether the player had control when he saved the ball. He may not be the last player to be in control of the ball, go out of bounds and be the 1st to touch it once he establishes in bounds status. If he never had control of the ball, then he may touch it as soon as he establishes in bounds status.
Sorry socalreff but this is incorrect.

You are allowed to have control of the ball, throw the ball in while falling out of bounds and then come back in and retrieve it. The issue is if you dribbled before and then picked it up with both hands and then threw the ball to the floor, you would not be allowed to retrieve it b/c it would be a double dribble. You also can't have control w/ a pivot foot and jump out of bounds and retrieve the ball because you lifted your pivot foot to start a dribble.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1