![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Not Necessarily
It is only a violation if the in the judgement of the official that the player went out of bounds on his or her own volition. The rule is not intended to penalize a player making a great play, such as saving a ball from going OB and his or her momentum takes them OB. That's still a good play.
|
|
|||
Not Necessarily
Quote:
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
Quote:
You are allowed to have control of the ball, throw the ball in while falling out of bounds and then come back in and retrieve it. The issue is if you dribbled before and then picked it up with both hands and then threw the ball to the floor, you would not be allowed to retrieve it b/c it would be a double dribble. You also can't have control w/ a pivot foot and jump out of bounds and retrieve the ball because you lifted your pivot foot to start a dribble. |
|
|||
The question is whether the player had control when he saved the ball. He may not be the last player to be in control of the ball, go out of bounds and be the 1st to touch it once he establishes in bounds status. If he never had control of the ball, then he may touch it as soon as he establishes in bounds status. [/B][/QUOTE] Sorry socalreff but this is incorrect. You are allowed to have control of the ball, throw the ball in while falling out of bounds and then come back in and retrieve it. The issue is if you dribbled before and then picked it up with both hands and then threw the ball to the floor, you would not be allowed to retrieve it b/c it would be a double dribble. You also can't have control w/ a pivot foot and jump out of bounds and retrieve the ball because you lifted your pivot foot to start a dribble. [/B][/QUOTE] Good call. I was thinking of a situation I had that was a bit different. The save back in bounds constitutes the start of a dribble. The sit. I had: the player had dribbled and then saved it with 2 hands; hence when he touched it again it was a double dribble. However, let me know on this one: The player started a dribble, momentum took him out of bounds, he comes back in. He may legally resume his dribble as in an interrupted dribble. I say yes.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement." |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|