The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 30, 2005, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member

Question

I have been a member for the past couple of years...I must say that while I have enjoyed many of the post I read, I am not sure if I am getting what I expected when I joined the site. I am an aspiring official who is currently still a member of the armed service. Although, I have been officiating for about six years I have not officiated beyond the high school varsity level...I am very happy there but I do have aspirations of moving up someday when my schedule permits...The reason I am burdening you all with all of this is that the reason I initially joined was to become a better official through dialogue and observations by senior officials and those who have been where I am trying to get. It seems to me, that sometimes the forums are merely a place to vent and not really talk basketball, but instead embarrass and belittle each other. Perhaps, if I had a scorecard to know whose posts to take seriously, and whose to only read for their inherent entertainment value, I would get more out of the site. I am not looking for reasons why I shouldn't have wrote this posts, but instead I am looking for reasons to renew my membership...please help!!
Old Wed Mar 30, 2005, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member

I don't think I paid any dues for this forum. I have received tons of valuable information on this board. It has helped me with different play situations and rules interpretations.

It has also helped me with my typing and spelling, thanks to some of the grammar guys.

As far as helping you get to where you want to be, the best advice I can give you is to work with someone in your association that is already there or has some connections. A lot of that is based on geographic location and who you know.