The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 25, 2005, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
According to NFHS (or NCAA in this regard) rules
ART. 4 . . . The dribble ends when:
d. An opponent bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) the ball.

But in the "double dribble" section, the rule says:

"A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
...
ART. 2 . . . A bat by an opponent.
"

Then a question arises: what if an opponent bats the ball but does not cause the dribbler to lose control of the ball, can the dribbler continue to dribble? (if we want to follow the rule literally.)

I don't think any referee will call "double dribble" if the dribbler keeps dribbling, but do I miss something here? My question is caused by the inconsistency of the rule, or my poor English, or both?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1