The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 26, 2005, 07:00am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
But the game officials did not call BI. The table reported that the ball did not pass thru the basket and they awarded the Mich. St player with the rebound.
Thanks to all for the clarification. Sorry for the confusion on my part. I thought the officials ruled it was basket Interference. I didn't hear the announcement to the contrary and I missed the replay while I was getting my NCAA rule book and looking up rule for what happened. Looking at the live play it looked to me that the ball and ring touched while the ring was in the down position.

I have now seen the replay in slow motion and I agree that what happened is not basket interference. The avenue Rut and BktBallRef were taking in their earlier posts is a lot clearer now. The officials were right in not awarding the goal per Rule 4-31-1.
Upon further review.......

Here's an article quoting Mike Kitts, the ref, re: the call. He said that the call actually was offensive BI.

http://www.freep.com/sports/michstat...e_20050326.htm

Looks like Preacher's original call be right.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1