View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 27, 2005, 04:04am
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I've seen offensive players cause the ball to come out after it was in the net twice this year--once in an NBA game and once in an NCAA game. Both times the players were swinging on the rim and the ball hit a head/shoulder before going completely through and rebounded straight back up and out. Both times the officials caught it too, and ruled no basket.
Not having seen the play in question, I'm curious about the "call" aspect of making this call. It sounds like there was a whistle on this play? If so, and it's not BI, then why would there be a whistle? If it's simply a matter of no basket because the ball didn't go all the way through, then doesn't it matter a lot whether or not the call was offensive BI? In addition to canceling the bucket, BI awards the ball to the other team. I must be missing something

In the instances you mention, how did the officials announce their rulings? With a whistle? With a wave off gesture and a "play on?"
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote