The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
If the T is opposite the Table when the timeout request was granted, the ensuing throw-in will be start at the free throw lane extended opposite the Table.

If the T is Table-side when the timeout request was granted, the ensuing throw-in will be start at the free throw lane extended Table-side.

MTD, Sr.
Is this based on anything in a rule book or a mechanics book or is this just how it is done in your area?

Z
No, there is nothing to support MTD's claim.

7-5-7 says ANYWHERE along the endline. If the throwing team requests a side, there is no rule support to deny that request.

The fact that a timeout has been granted does not mean that a switch or in the case of this play a rotation should occur.

The procedure that I described in my initial post still allows the team making the throw-in to make its throw-in from anywhere along the baseline. This procedure is applicable whether the officiating crew is a two-person or three-person crew.

Watch the NCAA Tournament games this weekend and you will see that the procedure I described will be the one will be used.

MTD, Sr.
If they have a play set up tableside and T was opposite the table you are forcing an OOB pass to use their play.

You still have not given a rule or manual citation to say the officials dictate the starting spot.

Once again there is no rule support to deny a request for a starting spot by the throwing team.


BZ:

No matter whether the game is being played under NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, of FIBA, there are no circumstances where the team dictates where it wants the ball to be inbounded.

Like I said watch the games this weekend.

MTD, Sr.
The original post speaks of a TO request before the ball is at the disposal, this is not like team A has the ball and a 5 second count has begun. Under those conditions A1 can grab the ball and take it to either side to begin the throw-in.

My feeling is the starting spot should be closest to where the ball was at the time of the request and if it is directly below the basket I'd give team A the option if asked, "Where is the throw-in spot?"

Let's test your mechanic. Team A takes the ball OOB after the made basket and begins the throw-in opposite the new T, then a TO is requested. Your mechanic now changes the starting spot from the location of the ball when the TO was granted to the opposite side of the lane.

I seriously doubt I see that done this weekend.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1