The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 09, 2005, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
I think we need a clarification on throwins. When A1 releases the ball toward the court but B1 reaches across the boundary and touches the ball before it is over the court, is it supposed to be treated the same as if A1 was still holding the ball OOB, or do the restrictions end when the ball is released toward the court? Notice I specify toward the court.
Mark,
You probably know this, but the NFHS and NCAA rules are different on this. In NFHS the defender is allowed to break the plane once the ball is released on a throw-in pass, so he could legally contact the ball on the out of bounds side of the boundary line. In NCAA play the restriction on the defender lasts until the ball breaks the plane, so there is no touching allowed on the out of bounds side either before or after the thrower releases the pass.

That is the way the rules are currently written.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1