The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Durkee
Relative to calling a backcourt violation, a dribbler must have both feet and the ball in the frontcourt to have front court status. Must the dribbler be in the backcourt when he starts a dribble for this to apply? For example, A1 was dribbling the ball with both feet and the ball clearly in the backcourt. He passed the ball to A2. At the time the ball reached A2, his feet were both on the floor in the frontcourt, but instead of catching the ball, he deflected the ball (clearly never held it) toward the floor and it hit in the backcourt where he continued to dribble. Legal? It feels like a violation to me, but I am not sure I can justify it by rule.
As snaqwells noted, the three points rule applies only to a dribbler dribbing from backcourt to frontcourt. The normal backcourt rules apply to A2, who is receiving a pass. His initial touch of the ball gives it frontcourt status, his dribble in backcourt gives it backcourt status and makes him the last to have touched it in frontcourt. When he touches the ball after it comes back up from the floor, he becomes the first to touch after it went to the backcourt. Violation. 9-9-1, 4-4-6
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1