![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Is there any such ruling on a self pass?  The shooter attempts a shot and follow it and the ball never hit anything, he retrieved his own shot and made the basket.  Is there any violation?
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Score the Basket!!!!   
			 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			In the NBA, the play described is traveling.   
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	10-XIV-i A player who attempts a field goal may not be the first to touch the ball if it fails to touch the backboard, basket ring or another player. "Self-pass" is a schoolyard call.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Self-pass is one of those blithering obfuscations.
			 
			Quote: 
	
 But, as happened tonight, a player dribbling the ball, picks up the dribble, THEN loses the ball and recovers it, double dribble. The crowd tonight didn't think so, but I saw what I saw . . . 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 The crowd tonight didn't think so, but I saw what I saw . . . [/B][/QUOTE]Losing the ball is legal if it's a fumble. You can recover it, but you can't dribble.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Not, in my view, if you control it first. The losing it was the result of trying to do something with it. Just because it didn't work out, you don't get a do-over. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Unfortunately, your personal view doesn't matter.  The rules matter.  JR is right.  A player can always go grab the ball after a fumble.  Take a close look at the following: 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Rule 4 SECTION 21 FUMBLE A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player's grasp. Rule 4 Section 15 Article 4 NOTE 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 While dribbling,A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: The dribble ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble had ended..., A1 may recover the ball.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				In this case I thought she was
			 
			Quote: 
	
 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Remember, you can FUMBLE-DRIBBLE-FUMBLE, but you cannot DRIBBLE-FUMBLE-DRIBBLE! 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	The play described by assignmentmaker is legal. If you have used your dribble and you FUMBLE, you can recover it, absolutely!  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			Holy cow. You mean I got it right tonight? They yelled their head off at me. I didn't think it was a travel. Holy cow. Learn something new every day.  
		
		
		
		
		
		
			 
		
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
		
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 |