![]() |
|
|||
Last 10 seconds of Saint Joseph-Rhode Island game on ESPN. URI scores and the clock stops. The ball gets away and the official blows the whistle to retrieve the ball. SJU sub is at the table and is permitted to enter.
Was it necessary to blow the whistle if the clock is stopped anyway. NCAA rules stipulate that a sub cannot enter the game in the last minute even if the clock is stopped. Did the officials err on this play or am I missing something? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Brandan M. Trahan Lafayette, LA ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
My guess is that a whistle for the purpose of retrieving the ball was not considered inadvertent, so the sub was allowed. But Jay's question also bothered me as I was watching.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Help
Quote:
|
|
|||
Here's one for Bob Jenkins. . . I think I remember an NCAA bulletin that talked about specific cases of when you would or would not let in the subs with less than a minute to play. Do you remember that bulletin or can you post it here?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
|
|||
Chuck,
There was an interpretation given at the beginning of the season that said substitutions were only allowed if 'a foul, violation, or timeout had occurred'. This is much clearer than naming the situations that a substitute could not enter. The officials erred if they let the sub in.
__________________
Church Basketball "The brawl that begins with a prayer" |
|
|||
Thanks, Dev! Is that interp online somewhere? I know I read it and I thought it was last season. Any ideas where I can find the "official" word? Thanks.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|