The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   SJU_URI Game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18795-sju_uri-game.html)

Jay R Sat Feb 26, 2005 04:45pm

Last 10 seconds of Saint Joseph-Rhode Island game on ESPN. URI scores and the clock stops. The ball gets away and the official blows the whistle to retrieve the ball. SJU sub is at the table and is permitted to enter.

Was it necessary to blow the whistle if the clock is stopped anyway. NCAA rules stipulate that a sub cannot enter the game in the last minute even if the clock is stopped. Did the officials err on this play or am I missing something?






brandan89 Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Last 10 seconds of Saint Joseph-Rhode Island game on ESPN. URI scores and the clock stops. The ball gets away and the official blows the whistle to retrieve the ball. SJU sub is at the table and is permitted to enter.

Was it necessary to blow the whistle if the clock is stopped anyway. NCAA rules stipulate that a sub cannot enter the game in the last minute even if the clock is stopped. Did the officials err on this play or am I missing something?

He may have blown it just to let his partners know or someting like that.

ChuckElias Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by brandan89
He may have blown it just to let his partners know or someting like that.
Nope, I was watching too and Jay's description is exactly right. The relevant rule is NCAA 3-4.6: "Substitution shall not be allowed when the game si stopped in the 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period to correct a timer's mistake or for an inadvertent whistle."

My guess is that a whistle for the purpose of retrieving the ball was not considered inadvertent, so the sub was allowed. But Jay's question also bothered me as I was watching.

tjones1 Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:49pm

Help
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by brandan89
He may have blown it just to let his partners know or someting like that.
Nope, I was watching too and Jay's description is exactly right. The relevant rule is NCAA 3-4.6: "Substitution shall not be allowed when the game si stopped in the 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period to correct a timer's mistake or for an inadvertent whistle."

My guess is that a whistle for the purpose of retrieving the ball was not considered inadvertent, so the sub was allowed. But Jay's question also bothered me as I was watching.

Can't locate an inadvertent whistle occuring in the FED book. Help please....

JosephG678 Sat Feb 26, 2005 06:47pm

Sure I'll help!
 
Look at 7.5.4 in casebook -- they call it "accidental" whistle.
Joe

tjones1 Sat Feb 26, 2005 07:58pm

Re: Sure I'll help!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JosephG678
Look at 7.5.4 in casebook -- they call it "accidental" whistle.
Joe

Joe, thanks!

ChuckElias Sun Feb 27, 2005 10:24am

Here's one for Bob Jenkins. . . I think I remember an NCAA bulletin that talked about specific cases of when you would or would not let in the subs with less than a minute to play. Do you remember that bulletin or can you post it here?

devdog69 Sun Feb 27, 2005 11:15am

Chuck,
There was an interpretation given at the beginning of the season that said substitutions were only allowed if 'a foul, violation, or timeout had occurred'. This is much clearer than naming the situations that a substitute could not enter. The officials erred if they let the sub in.

ChuckElias Sun Feb 27, 2005 01:50pm

Thanks, Dev! Is that interp online somewhere? I know I read it and I thought it was last season. Any ideas where I can find the "official" word? Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1