The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2005, 05:49pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Help

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by brandan89
He may have blown it just to let his partners know or someting like that.
Nope, I was watching too and Jay's description is exactly right. The relevant rule is NCAA 3-4.6: "Substitution shall not be allowed when the game si stopped in the 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period to correct a timer's mistake or for an inadvertent whistle."

My guess is that a whistle for the purpose of retrieving the ball was not considered inadvertent, so the sub was allowed. But Jay's question also bothered me as I was watching.
Can't locate an inadvertent whistle occuring in the FED book. Help please....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1