The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 26, 2005, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 22
Went to a Chicago Public League varsity non conference game last night. A1 went up for a layup and after his attempt hit the backboard, B1 deflected it but the ball still went in. Neither official blew his whistle for a violation. Is this a violation? The ball had already contacted the backboard but was still on its way up. Another possibility was that since the ball went in they held their whistle?
Also at tip off time there was only one ref on the court- needless to say they weren't on the court 15 minutes before the game watching the visitors dunking during warmups. There was no coaches/captains meeting beforehand and one of the officials was very considerably overweight. He had a hard enough time walking let alone even thinking of running up and down the court. He was continually out of position and was really getting it from the fans. Anybody out there from the Chicago area know how the CPL does its assigning? I can't believe an assignor would give a varsity game to someone who may be very rules competent but not physically able to officiate this game. I felt bad for the players and it was uncomfortable listening to the fans continually get on this official. I guess I also can't understand why this official would accept an assignment he knows he isn 't physically able to handle. To make matters worse, the game went ino OT!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1