The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2005, 04:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by MPLAHE
A1 shoots and the ball goes in the basket. Shooter has returned to the floor and is then fouled. Is this situation ignored unless flagrant or intentional per 4-19-1? This section also states that "a personal foul also includes contact by or on an airborne shooter when the ball is dead."

I had a coach ask me for an interpretation of a situation he had in which the shooter shot the ball and a foul was called clearly after the ball had gone through the hoop and the shooter returned to the floor. I told him it would have ignored it unless intentional or flagrant since the play was dead after the basket was scored. Was I wrong in my interpretation?
MPLAHE,
You were right if the contact was incidental.
You were wrong without providing additional conditions.
Depends on the quality/quantity of contact.
mick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1