The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
I have a question -

A1 calls a time out and then out of frustration slams the ball to the celling. Official whacks A1 with a "T". Off course two shots by B team, but how is possession handled? Does B team get the ball or do you go to the AP? My buddy called me with this last night and I told him I would check. He gave the ball to team B at center court opposite of the table.
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 133
Buddy is right

You're buddy done good!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,777
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
I have a question -

A1 calls a time out and then out of frustration slams the ball to the celling. Official whacks A1 with a "T". Off course two shots by B team, but how is possession handled? Does B team get the ball or do you go to the AP? My buddy called me with this last night and I told him I would check. He gave the ball to team B at center court opposite of the table.
Assuming this was FED rules, the penalty for a T always included posession of the ball (unless complicated by a subsequent T, or the end of a period)

Under NCAA rules, shoot the throws for the T and go back to POI.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
[B]Assuming this was FED rules, the penalty for a T always included posession of the ball (unless complicated by a subsequent T, or the end of a period)

Under NCAA rules, shoot the throws for the T and go back to POI.
Do you believe that HS will ever go to this? I think it is worth looking at. It will get rid of the confusion that some have between intentionals and T's.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,846
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
[B]
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Assuming this was FED rules, the penalty for a T always included posession of the ball (unless complicated by a subsequent T, or the end of a period)

Under NCAA rules, shoot the throws for the T and go back to POI.


Do you believe that HS will ever go to this? I think it is worth looking at. It will get rid of the confusion that some have between intentionals and T's.
What confusion?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 182
The confusion that new officials encounter the first few times they have have an intentional or T! In the association I just transfered to, it seemed like every meeting, we had to distinguish between the two for new officials.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 58
Why the differences

I wonder why there are not just one set of rules for the game. Why does the NFHS / Mens' NCAA, Womens NCAA seem to have different little rule differences? Like the above for instance?

Just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,777
Re: Why the differences

Quote:
Originally posted by mopar60
I wonder why there are not just one set of rules for the game. Why does the NFHS / Mens' NCAA, Womens NCAA seem to have different little rule differences? Like the above for instance?

Just curious.
What about NBA and FIBA? You want your local rec league and my local rec league to play with the same rules?

Whose rules do we choose?

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,846
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
The confusion that new officials encounter the first few times they have have an intentional or T! In the association I just transfered to, it seemed like every meeting, we had to distinguish between the two for new officials.
I find those a piece of cake compared to the correctable error rules. Talk about confusing...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
The confusion that new officials encounter the first few times they have have an intentional or T! In the association I just transfered to, it seemed like every meeting, we had to distinguish between the two for new officials.
How so? In both cases the team fouled gets two shots and the ball. The only difference is in who shoots the free throws (fouled player for the X, player designated by coach for T) and where they get the ball for inbound (spot nearest foul for X, division line for T). Pretty simple really, compared to some of the other stuff we have to deal with.......
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2005, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
The confusion that new officials encounter the first few times they have have an intentional or T! In the association I just transfered to, it seemed like every meeting, we had to distinguish between the two for new officials.
I assume you mean the difference in administration? If distinguishing between a T and an intentional is confusing now, just imagine all of the fun we could have with POI! The difference would then be pretty big, which would only exacerbate the newbies' confusion. At least now if they confuse them, about the worst that can happen is they give the offended team the ball back at the wrong spot.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 25, 2005, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
I have a question -

A1 calls a time out and then out of frustration slams the ball to the celling. Official whacks A1 with a "T". Off course two shots by B team, but how is possession handled? Does B team get the ball or do you go to the AP? My buddy called me with this last night and I told him I would check. He gave the ball to team B at center court opposite of the table.
Fouls don't change the AP arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1