The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2005, 10:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by smoref
Quote:
Originally posted by Mlancaster
If your team is throwing the ball in, the official may hand your player the ball for throw-in, in which case you get an uncontested layup. After the basket, if the other team does not then throw the ball in after the 5-second count, then a "T" is assessed.......

If the other team was to throw the ball in, the official will place the ball on the floor and have a 5-second count.
After the 5-second violation occurs, the above scenario is in effect.

But, it is true that in a kids game, the refs may be a lot more lenient on this.
I beileve you are incorrect about a "T" if the team does not inbound the ball w/in the 5 sec. It would be the same if the team was trying to throw in the ball and team B was palying good defense and 5 sec expired. It would be a violation and team "B" would get the ball.

There is no reason to give a "T" if the ball is not inbounded with in the 5 sec allowed.
There is a very good reason, and that is that the rule book requires it when the Resumption of Play Procedure is in effect. There is no judgment required. There is no option.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1