The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Feb 18, 2005, 01:40am
Official Forum Member

Hey guys/gals, first time poster, long time reader. Been reading these forums for about 2 years now and I have to say this is easily one of the best tools I have found for developing my officiating skills.

I've been refing for about 6 years now. Three years doing HS ball (I'm another Portland guy from the PBOA). I think of myself as an above average official, but I've still got stuff to work on (and I'm always willing to take advice from experienced officials) and I try to set one or two goals each year to work on. This year its coach-ref relationship and game management, last year it was traveling. I know I'm not ready for the "big time" varsity games and thats fine with me as I don't expect to have a full varsity schedule this early. The reason why I'm posting is I had a situation tonight, that I'd like some advice on....

I had a double-header Freshman and JV girls tonight. First game, is well, a freshman girls game. Coach for home team is chirping quite frequently early on, but I'm ignoring him. Two times in the first half, his player comes down with a rebound and without any contact from the other team, his player falls to the ground. Both my partner and I blow travel. The second time this happens, he's PO'd, and yells at me after I call a second travel "How can you call that!!! That's TWO times now!!!" Having no choice, I had to whack him (he immediately sits, knowing he's lost his box).