The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: levittown new york
Posts: 32
a1 driving for a lay up on a fast break , b1 from behind grabs player from behind to prevent player from scoring. official calls a intentional foul, as the call is being made to the table, b1 tells ref some choice words, ref t's b1 is he ejected at that point.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Quote:
Originally posted by scat03
a1 driving for a lay up on a fast break , b1 from behind grabs player from behind to prevent player from scoring. official calls a intentional foul, as the call is being made to the table, b1 tells ref some choice words, ref t's b1 is he ejected at that point.
Not unless you call a flagrant "T" or another Unsportsmanline "T".

An intentional foul is not in the same catagory as "T"
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 03:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
There are a number of variables.
If the intentional was B1's fourth foul, then the technical would be his 5th. He's done.
If he's already got a technical, then this is his 2nd T, and he's done.
If what he said was deemed by the official to be especially unsporting (threats, racial slurs, etc), then he could have called a flagrant T, in which case B1 is done. A spectator would have a hard time distinguishing between a flagrant T and a normal T, as the mechanics look identical except for what the official tells the scorer and coaches.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally posted by scat03
a1 driving for a lay up on a fast break , b1 from behind grabs player from behind to prevent player from scoring. official calls a intentional foul, as the call is being made to the table, b1 tells ref some choice words, ref t's b1 is he ejected at that point.
What's your question?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by scat03
a1 driving for a lay up on a fast break , b1 from behind grabs player from behind to prevent player from scoring. official calls a intentional foul, as the call is being made to the table, b1 tells ref some choice words, ref t's b1 is he ejected at that point.
What's your question?
Ahhh, finally, a question!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 15, 2005, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by scat03
a1 driving for a lay up on a fast break , b1 from behind grabs player from behind to prevent player from scoring. official calls a intentional foul, as the call is being made to the table, b1 tells ref some choice words, ref t's b1 is he ejected at that point.
What's your question?
My thoughts exactly. I read the original post and thought "So?"

Depending on the choice words, the player can get the heave-ho.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2005, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 1,453
Right at the end of his post, he asks "is he ejected at that point?"
__________________
Never argue with an idiot. He will bring you down to his level and beat you with experience.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2005, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 246
There was a question asked. Are you guys hung up on the fact that he forgot to put the question mark, and maybe that is why you failed to answer him? jeez
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2005, 12:25pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Unless the foul was flagrant or his choice words were considered "flagrant", the answer is no.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2005, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
There are a number of variables.
If the intentional was B1's fourth foul, then the technical would be his 5th. He's done.
If he's already got a technical, then this is his 2nd T, and he's done.
If what he said was deemed by the official to be especially unsporting (threats, racial slurs, etc), then he could have called a flagrant T, in which case B1 is done. A spectator would have a hard time distinguishing between a flagrant T and a normal T, as the mechanics look identical except for what the official tells the scorer and coaches.
Don't confuse "fouling out" with ejection. Ejection must be reported to the state (here) and means the player is disqualified for the next game. Being "done" has more than one meaning.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2005, 01:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally posted by Forksref
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
There are a number of variables.
If the intentional was B1's fourth foul, then the technical would be his 5th. He's done.
If he's already got a technical, then this is his 2nd T, and he's done.
If what he said was deemed by the official to be especially unsporting (threats, racial slurs, etc), then he could have called a flagrant T, in which case B1 is done. A spectator would have a hard time distinguishing between a flagrant T and a normal T, as the mechanics look identical except for what the official tells the scorer and coaches.
Don't confuse "fouling out" with ejection. Ejection must be reported to the state (here) and means the player is disqualified for the next game. Being "done" has more than one meaning.
Point taken. But I assumed we're dealing with a question from a fan, and to the fans, there is no difference for that game. I was pointing out a possible explanation for why that player may not have played the rest of the game.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1