The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2005, 02:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by TwoDot
I've got to have a no call. I do not see that the ball ever attained frontcourt status. Three points of the two feet and ball need to be established in the frontcourt.

This is not any different than when a player is dribbling and feet are in FC and ball is bouncing in backcourt. It may look ugly but not illegal.
If he's not dribbling from bc to fc, he doesn't have the three points thing protecting him. By trying to catch the pass in the FC, he has now established fc position for the ball. Team control already exists for A. He is now the last to touch the ball before it went to the bc. If he or a teammate is the first to touch the ball now, it will be a violation; but not before.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2005, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 106
Backcourt...put it in play and move on. "You are where you were till you get where you are"...A2 was in front court regardless of ball position; ball then goes backcourt and WHEN TOUCHED by A, then you have a violation.

Good call!
__________________
Call what you SAW...not what you see!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2005, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
Quote:
Originally posted by bseybs32
My reasoning for this being a violaion is along the same lines as if A2 jumped from the FC, caught the ball, as it was still in the BC, and landing in the BC. this situation is a violation as soon as A2 touches the ball. No different than my original post.

This is why I had a violation.
But it isn't a violation until A2 lands in the backcourt, which means, that A2 has to be touching the ball and in the backcourt in order for a violation to be called. If while in the air, A2 drops the ball, and it lands in the BC without A2 touching it, then you've got nothing. It won't be a violation until any team A player touches the ball.

Edit: after reading Bob's post I think I should clarify that last statement:

It won't be a violation unless a team A player is the first to touch the ball while it is still in the BC.



Further edit: I can clarify this some more

It won't be a violation unless a team A player is the first to touch the bal while it still has BC status

I don't think I can clarify it anymore

[Edited by ref18 on Feb 14th, 2005 at 02:11 PM]
Still wrong...the status of the ball is not relevant. It would be a violation if a team A player is the first to touch the ball after it gained backcourt status; it is possible for ball to return to frontcourt without any other player contacting the ball (hits officials, wind blows, spinning ball, etc.)...still a violation to touch if first.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1