The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 01:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 322
I don't really have a clear understanding of the path behind the free-throw shooter. High School Rules please.

When a player is shooting a free throw, the lane/paint is supposed to extend thru him behind him past the 3-point arch, correct? So essentially, a player walking behind the free-throw shooter (even though outside the 3-point arch) has committed a violation.

First, let me know if my understanding of that idea is correct.

Second, what type of violation is it? Something in the back of my head recalls it may even be as extreme as a technical foul, but that seems a bit excessive. Perhaps if positioned behind the shooter and talking or something along those lines being construed as taunting being what I'm thinking?

Third, if the idea is correct, how far back does the imaginary extension of the paint go? 2 feet? 3 feet? halfcourt?

I was telling a player the concept of the rule and he asked how far back was far enough. I gave him a spot about 3 feet behind (why he would want such a disadvantageous of a positon, who knows?). Would like to give him the right (or maybe I was haha) answer next time

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 02:02am
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 929
The restrictions that come into effect once the ball is 'at the disposal of the shooter' are as follows:
Players in marked lane spaces may not enter the lane until the ball touches the rim. Other players must remain behind the area delineated by the FT line extended and the 3 point arc. There is no provision that extends the painted 3 second lane. Where did you ever dream up this nugget???
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 02:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,902
bradford,
You're not correct. The opponent must either be in a marked lane space along the side of the lane or behind the FT line extended and behind the 3pt line.

Therefore, standing outside the FT semicircle directly behind the FT shooter is perfectly legal.

It is still illegal to disconcert the FT shooter in some way from that position.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 03:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 322
Got it thanks... no idea where I pulled that idea from my ***... oh wait I answered my own query... must've came from my *** haha
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Remember - it's the FT line extended, not the lane lines extended.

Perhaps that's the source of your confusion?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 322
"Remember - it's the FT line extended, not the lane lines extended."

Can you clarify what this means for me?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
The restrictions that come into effect once the ball is 'at the disposal of the shooter' are as follows:
Players in marked lane spaces may not enter the lane until the ball touches the rim.
Rim or BACKBOARD.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
"Lane Lines" are the two lines that players stand adjacent to when in a freethrow situation. These 2 lines are perpendicular to the base or end line. "Freethrow line" runs parallel to the end line.
__________________
gi ump
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 01:17pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by bradfordwilkins
"Remember - it's the FT line extended, not the lane lines extended."

Can you clarify what this means for me?
Players not in lane spaces must stay outside the three point arc, but above the free throw line extended. I had a girl a couple of years ago drop down along the arc to the baseline to try to get the rebound. It took three times before the offense missed the shot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
Quote:
Originally posted by justacoach
The restrictions that come into effect once the ball is 'at the disposal of the shooter' are as follows:
Players in marked lane spaces may not enter the lane until the ball touches the rim.
Rim or BACKBOARD.
Excellent point RecRef, I cringe everytime I either watch or work a game where the ball hits the backboard and beofre it hits the rim the players move and one of the officials or my P calls a violation. It's made some interesting half-time/post game chats over the years.
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1