The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member

I am a high school coach. We had two situations last night that occured. I didn't argue the calls I just want to know if they were administered correctly. By knowing the right answer it will help my coaching.

Situation 1: Team A makes a basket and is fouled. Team A is shooting one free throw. The free throw is missed and Team B gets the rebound. As Team B player holds the ball the remaining players begin to run down the floor. The official forgot it was one shot (thought it was two shots). He sounds the whistle. Everyone stops - Player on Team B - gives ball to official. After a short meeting the officials decide the whistle was wrong - inadvertant whistle. They go to the possession arrow and give the ball back to Team A who had the next possession. Was this done correctly?

Situation 2: Team B calls a 30 second timeout. The time out is called as B4 enters the game. At the conclusion of the timeout the ball is inbounded by Team A. The coach for Team B sees that two players came out when B4 entered. He informs B3 to get back into the game he was not taken out. B3 enters the game directly from the bench as the clock is running. A technical was called on B3. Was this done correctly? If so is B3 out until the next dead ball.

Thanks for any help.

Coach Wells
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member

Situation 1: It depends.

If play continued as normal on a missed FT, then Team B should have kept the ball.

If the teams just stood there because they thought there were 2 FTs, and B1 just happen to catch the ball, then the decision to go to the arrow is correct.

Situation 2: Yes, by rule the call was correct.
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 01:17pm
Get away from me, Steve.

Quote:
Originally posted by coachmjw