The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
(1) If B is in possession of the ball at the time of an accidental whistle, B should be given the ball back at the nearest spot for a designated spot throw-in. If the ball is not in possession at the time of the whistle, go to the arrow.
Not if the official indicated 2 shots, and the players didn't react to the rebound as in a normal reboudning siutaion.

8.6.1 SITUATION:
A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point.

RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be blown dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue.
I don't read that in the situation -- if I step in and say "one throw" and everyone but the rebounder acts as if there's 2 coming, tough beans.
I don't read anything into the situation. If I step in and say "two" and no one but the rebounder acts as if there's 2 coming, then it's my fault and we go to the arrow.

Quote:
(Actually, I can't really tell what the official did in the original situation -- maybe he had really quick amnesia or something).
Exactly. So let's not give the coach one answer when another could be correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1