The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 11:15am
Official Forum Member

Smile

Hi guys and girls.
I am new to the forum and I just started to referee.
I have done 2 HS games going for three tomorrow
I have done 11 town games 4th 5th 6th 7th & 8th grade girls
I have done 4 all start teams tournament games.
all of this in the pass 2 month. So I am very new to this stuff. LOL

Here is my question or case. This is what I did at one of my games.

A1 is dribbling. A2 is in the 3 second paint box. I am counting 1 2 at 2 1/2 sec. A1 go for a try, shoot the ball. I stop the count. A2 still in the paint box. A3 and A4 rebound the ball and shoot again 2 or 3 more time, ball don't go in A3 grab the ball and have control of the ball. A2 still in the paint box. Once A3 got control of the ball I continue the 3 second count and whistles to call the violation 3 second on A2 and give the ball to B team.

Did I make the right call?
When the 3 sec count stop if the ball goes inside the paint box parameter?

I had people telling me I shoulded stop the count after the shoot and when team A took control of the ball, I shoulded start a new 3 sec. count. Is this right or not.?

Your advice is appreciate.
Reyes
New Referee.
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 11:19am
Keeper of the HAMMER

Once a shot goes up, the 3 second count will need to be restarted from the beginning. Don't restart it until the rebound has been secured by the offense, though.
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 11:39am
Official Forum Member