The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 02, 2005, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Re: The dribbler does not have to touch it first to be an illegal dribble

Quote:
Originally posted by rwest
Once the player has ended their dribble, if he/she starts another dribble its a violation. The dribbler does not have to touch the ball before the violation occurs. The violation occurs when he/she initiates the dribble. A bounce pass can not be confused for a dribble. For example, A1 dribbles up the court and ends their dribble. They then initiate another dribble but before the ball bounces back to their hand the ball is touched by the defender. I have an illegal dribble even though the dribbler was not the first to touch it after it hit the floor. The illegal dribble is called at the start of the dribble.

Sorry, but I have to disagree. You start a dribble by releasing the ball to the floor. However, the drible is not completed until she is the 1st to touch the ball after the release. If she does not touch the ball then its not a dribble.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1