The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2005, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 106
Seems the distinguishing factor is whether the backboard belongs to A or B.

Case 4.4.5 A1 atytempts a pass (said it was not a try, so it must be a pass) to A2 during pressing action in A's backcourt. The ball hits B's backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and a) passes the ball to A2; or b) starts a dribble. RULING: The pass against B's backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In a) the passis legal action, in b) it is a violation for a second dribblem (9-5).

Now let's see what Rule 4.4.5 states, "A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard it does not constitute a part of a dribble.

So if A1 slings it off his own backboard he can continue to do whatever he wants.
__________________
Call what you SAW...not what you see!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1