The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 07:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Happened last week in a varsity boys game I did. A1 goes to the line to shoot two free throws. Team B coach calls his entire team over to the bench and starts to talk to them. Our trail official tells the coach he has to have two of his players take the first lane spaces. He says that it's a two shot foul and he will put them there for the second. T goes and tells the coach he must, by rule, have two players in the first lane space. He sends two players out there. From his reaction we all agreed he did not seem to know this rule (not that it is supposed to matter). The whole thing took about 20 - 30 seconds. What is proper to do here? We talked about it after the game and we think you can do a few things:

1) Do what we did and just make the players get in the spaces and continue the game; if they refuse, call a T for delay of game.

2) Give the ball to the shooter and immediately put out a fist for a violation; if the shot is made administer the second; if missed, give another shot; if the team is not ready to play for the second free throw give a T for delay.

3) Administer a T for delaying the game (we're not sure about this one since this is not one of the specific delay incidents cited in the rule book).

Your thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 07:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to brandan89 Send a message via Yahoo to brandan89
I would say 2 sounds the most correct.
__________________
Brandan M. Trahan
Lafayette, LA
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 07:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Free Throw Lane Spaces

one. and then maybe u have educated the coach abit and prevented any problems and hopefully and further delays in this game or the future
__________________
only dumb questions are those not ask! well................
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Warn for delay.

Resuming play procedure may only be used following a timeout or intermission.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Warn for delay.

Resuming play procedure may only be used following a timeout or intermission.
Incorrect. There are three delay of game scenarios and this isn't one of them. #1 is correct.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 07:56pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
I would warn for delay. Next time it happens, it's a T. Never seen it get that far though--hopefully I don't either.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 10:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Warn for delay.

Resuming play procedure may only be used following a timeout or intermission.
Incorrect. There are three delay of game scenarios and this isn't one of them. #1 is correct.

Case book play10.1.5SitC(b) is the exact same play. AS Z said, #1 is the correct way to handle it. You tell them to put 2 players immediately in the bottom slots. If they refuse or delay, immediate team T with no warning.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Warn for delay.

Resuming play procedure may only be used following a timeout or intermission.
Incorrect. There are three delay of game scenarios and this isn't one of them. #1 is correct.

Case book play10.1.5SitC(b) is the exact same play. AS Z said, #1 is the correct way to handle it. You tell them to put 2 players immediately in the bottom slots. If they refuse or delay, immediate team T with no warning.
Yeah - definately messed that one up during camp this summer.

Of course, this led to the ejection of B's coach - so the lane space issue quickly became moot.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 10:13pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
I don't disagree that if they refuse it's a automatic T. But I would warn them (telling them they better get two in their spots) or there is a price to pay.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Warn for delay.

Resuming play procedure may only be used following a timeout or intermission.
Incorrect. There are three delay of game scenarios and this isn't one of them. #1 is correct.

Case book play10.1.5SitC(b) is the exact same play. AS Z said, #1 is the correct way to handle it. You tell them to put 2 players immediately in the bottom slots. If they refuse or delay, immediate team T with no warning.
The case play really makes no sense, how is one delay different then the other?



[Edited by blindzebra on Jan 30th, 2005 at 10:37 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 30, 2005, 10:56pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Warn for delay.

Resuming play procedure may only be used following a timeout or intermission.
Incorrect. There are three delay of game scenarios and this isn't one of them. #1 is correct.

Case book play10.1.5SitC(b) is the exact same play. AS Z said, #1 is the correct way to handle it. You tell them to put 2 players immediately in the bottom slots. If they refuse or delay, immediate team T with no warning.
The case play really makes no sense, how is one delay different then the other?

The difference is that you don't treat this one as an official delay warning that must be entered in the scorebook. It's just an unofficial "hey, get 'em in here right now or I gotta call the T". If they refuse or are slow---> whack.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2005, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,072
Quote:
Originally posted by johnnyrao
Happened last week in a varsity boys game I did. A1 goes to the line to shoot two free throws. Team B coach calls his entire team over to the bench and starts to talk to them. Our trail official tells the coach he has to have two of his players take the first lane spaces. He says that it's a two shot foul and he will put them there for the second. T goes and tells the coach he must, by rule, have two players in the first lane space. He sends two players out there. From his reaction we all agreed he did not seem to know this rule (not that it is supposed to matter). The whole thing took about 20 - 30 seconds. What is proper to do here? We talked about it after the game and we think you can do a few things:

1) Do what we did and just make the players get in the spaces and continue the game; if they refuse, call a T for delay of game.

2) Give the ball to the shooter and immediately put out a fist for a violation; if the shot is made administer the second; if missed, give another shot; if the team is not ready to play for the second free throw give a T for delay.

3) Administer a T for delaying the game (we're not sure about this one since this is not one of the specific delay incidents cited in the rule book).

Your thoughts?
FED: Option 1.

NCAA: Option 2.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2005, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696

From the Casebook

10.1.5 SITUATION C: The calling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1. B1 and B2 are: (a) huddling in the lane; or (b) two B players are not occupying the first two marked spaces next to the end line as required. RULING: In (a), if the huddle delays the officials' administration, Team B is warned. The warning is recorded by the scorer and reported to the head coach. If Team B had been previously warned for free-throw delay, a technical foul shall be charged. In (b), Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is delay, a technical foul shall be charged to Team B. (4-46)
__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1