The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Question

A player has just received the ball for his first attempted free throw and he doesn't bounce the ball but his pre shot routine consist of a practice shot that goes about 4 feet above him(not towards the basket) then takes two dribbles then shoots. Is this legal or not?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally posted by afrothunda
A player has just received the ball for his first attempted free throw and he doesn't bounce the ball but his pre shot routine consist of a practice shot that goes about 4 feet above him(not towards the basket) then takes two dribbles then shoots. Is this legal or not?
Yes
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:
Originally posted by afrothunda
A player has just received the ball for his first attempted free throw and he doesn't bounce the ball but his pre shot routine consist of a practice shot that goes about 4 feet above him(not towards the basket) then takes two dribbles then shoots. Is this legal or not?
Yes
Really? What if the practice shot disconcerts one of the defenders to step into the lane? Then you'll penalize the defender?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 246
Yep, because the defender should not be in the lane until the ball hits the rim anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally posted by afrothunda
A player has just received the ball for his first attempted free throw and he doesn't bounce the ball but his pre shot routine consist of a practice shot that goes about 4 feet above him(not towards the basket) then takes two dribbles then shoots. Is this legal or not?
In HS, players can't go in the lane til the ball first hits the backboard or rim anyway, why would this pre free throw ritual matter?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Crap. Good point.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 915
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by afrothunda
A player has just received the ball for his first attempted free throw and he doesn't bounce the ball but his pre shot routine consist of a practice shot that goes about 4 feet above him(not towards the basket) then takes two dribbles then shoots. Is this legal or not?
In HS, players can't go in the lane til the ball first hits the backboard or rim anyway, why would this pre free throw ritual matter?
Balls got to hit iron.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally posted by gordon30307
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by afrothunda
A player has just received the ball for his first attempted free throw and he doesn't bounce the ball but his pre shot routine consist of a practice shot that goes about 4 feet above him(not towards the basket) then takes two dribbles then shoots. Is this legal or not?
In HS, players can't go in the lane til the ball first hits the backboard or rim anyway, why would this pre free throw ritual matter?
Balls got to hit iron.
Bet $100.00 on that?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 246
rim, net, or backboard
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,000
Quote:
Originally posted by Redhouse
rim, net, or backboard
9-1,10

ring or backboard. Sorry, no net mentioned. Am I missing something? Please share!

__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
So I am assuming that this would not be considered a fake?? 9-2,4.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
What does the rulebook say about a fake attempt? Even with the fact that a defender shouldn't be jumping into the lane till the ball hits backboard or rim, I still just think a practice shot is wrong. I don't have my books handy, so I would be tempted to call this a fake attempt and penalize the shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 246
It may touch just the net, but if it did there would be no rebound to get. dead ball available for throw in
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
NFHS states 9-1,4 The free thrower shall not fake a try, nor shall any player in a marked lane space fake to cause an opponent to violate.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 06:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by Smitty
What does the rulebook say about a fake attempt? Even with the fact that a defender shouldn't be jumping into the lane till the ball hits backboard or rim, I still just think a practice shot is wrong. I don't have my books handy, so I would be tempted to call this a fake attempt and penalize the shooter.
Man, that's just too big of a reach for me, Smitty. Call a ball thrown 4 feet straight above the FT shooter a practise shot? What is he practising? How to miss his free throw?

This is a nit that should never be picked. The kid just has his own way of getting himself prepared for his free throw. No harm/no foul--leave it alone and let him do it. We got a heckuva lot more things to worry about in a game than this one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1