![]() |
A player has just received the ball for his first attempted free throw and he doesn't bounce the ball but his pre shot routine consist of a practice shot that goes about 4 feet above him(not towards the basket) then takes two dribbles then shoots. Is this legal or not?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Yep, because the defender should not be in the lane until the ball hits the rim anyway.
|
Quote:
|
Crap. Good point. :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
rim, net, or backboard
|
Quote:
ring or backboard. Sorry, no net mentioned. Am I missing something? Please share! |
So I am assuming that this would not be considered a fake?? 9-2,4.
|
What does the rulebook say about a fake attempt? Even with the fact that a defender shouldn't be jumping into the lane till the ball hits backboard or rim, I still just think a practice shot is wrong. I don't have my books handy, so I would be tempted to call this a fake attempt and penalize the shooter.
|
It may touch just the net, but if it did there would be no rebound to get. dead ball available for throw in
|
NFHS states 9-1,4 The free thrower shall not fake a try, nor shall any player in a marked lane space fake to cause an opponent to violate.
|
Quote:
This is a nit that should never be picked. The kid just has his own way of getting himself prepared for his free throw. No harm/no foul--leave it alone and let him do it. We got a heckuva lot more things to worry about in a game than this one. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38am. |