The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2005, 05:36pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by johnnyrao
[
I should know better than to question you but some of our officials who took the state certification test this year said this was a question on the test and the test answer was no the violation does not carry over. The interpretation they were given was that when you grant the TO you make the ball dead. According to the rules the free throw ends on a dead ball. The TO call ended the free throw so after the TO the free throw is a completely new one the violation can not carry over.
You're kiddin', right?

If the FT ends with a TO, then how can you administer another one after the TO? You can't because that FT has ended, according to your guys. Iow, A1 is given the ball to shoot a FT- say the first shot of a 1/1. He calls a time-out and he now loses that FT because it ended. Other team has to get the ball now. That's a ludicrous interpretation. It's a complete mis-reading of Rule 4-20-3.
[/B]

JR:

Thank you.

MTD, Sr. [/B][/QUOTE]MTD SR.

You're welcome.

JR
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1