The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 03:30pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Yep, same idea. But remember it wouldn't apply if it was a throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Junker
Okay, here's the explaination of what I had and did last night. A makes a basket. B1 grabs the ball and heads out of bounds. B2 then runs OOB and B1 tosses the ball to him. By their body language and the way they are moving (how's that for by the book terminology) I could tell that what they were trying to do is get the correct person for their press break inbounding the ball. Since I had yet to begin my 5 second count, I did not call this a violation. Had I begun counting, I would have called a violation. Had B2 caught the ball and dribbled up the court, I also would not have called a violation. Sorry there's no rulesbook quotes in here, but they're in the bag and Wednesday's my day off from games.
Your failure to start the count is an error on your part. Don't penalize Team A by not properly calling the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 186
Smile

One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
I understand what you are saying about getting my count started. My thoughts were that this is a sophomore game, they were getting their play organized. It didn't delay the game for a significant period of time. They weren't trying to gain an advantage. They didn't gain an advantage as the press was still in about the same defensive position (after B2 got the ball, he was at about the same spot that B1 was). I would have given the other team the same treatment. Now, in a Varsity game, I'd call the violation, especially after the thoughts on this post. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 04:10pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally posted by TPS2859
One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.
10-4! Sounds good.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
[QUOTE]Originally posted by TPS2859
[B]One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.

Thanks, this is what I was trying to articulate on the post. I just didn't have my rulesbook language straight.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally posted by Junker
I understand what you are saying about getting my count started. My thoughts were that this is a sophomore game, they were getting their play organized. It didn't delay the game for a significant period of time. They weren't trying to gain an advantage. They didn't gain an advantage as the press was still in about the same defensive position (after B2 got the ball, he was at about the same spot that B1 was). I would have given the other team the same treatment. Now, in a Varsity game, I'd call the violation, especially after the thoughts on this post. Thanks.
Maybe it's just me, but I think the violation is as important at an underclass level as at the varsity level. If you don't call the violation in the underclass games, how do the players learn to do it right at the varsity level. If it's a league that asks refs to give instruction you might blow the whistle and explain and have a do-over, but in a HS game I think you need to make the call. Otherwise when the kids graduate to varsity they will think the play is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 04:31pm
CK CK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. Louis MO
Posts: 87
quote:

Originally posted by Junker
Okay, here's the explaination of what I had and did last night. A makes a basket. B1 grabs the ball and heads out of bounds. B2 then runs OOB and B1 tosses the ball to him. By their body language and the way they are moving (how's that for by the book terminology) I could tell that what they were trying to do is get the correct person for their press break inbounding the ball. Since I had yet to begin my 5 second count, I did not call this a violation. Had I begun counting, I would have called a violation. Had B2 caught the ball and dribbled up the court, I also would not have called a violation. Sorry there's no rulesbook quotes in here, but they're in the bag and Wednesday's my day off from games.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
quote:

Your failure to start the count is an error on your part. Don't penalize Team A by not properly calling the violation.
----------------------------------------------------------

So exactly how is this a violation regardless of when the 5 second count started? (I am assuming B1 IS oob.)

[Edited by CK on Jan 20th, 2005 at 12:29 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 19, 2005, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Quote:
Originally posted by Junker
Okay, here's the explaination of what I had and did last night. A makes a basket. B1 grabs the ball and heads out of bounds.

So far so good

B2 then runs OOB and B1 tosses the ball to him. By their body language and the way they are moving (how's that for by the book terminology) I could tell that what they were trying to do is get the correct person for their press break inbounding the ball.

B2 is out of bounds and receives the ball. Legal during throw in after made basket.

Since I had yet to begin my 5 second count, I did not call this a violation.

Started count or not...it is legal for the players to pass the ball to each other OOB after a made basket as long as it is withing their 5 seconds.

Had I begun counting, I would have called a violation.

You would wrongly called a violation. Once again made basket all the passing they want OOB within their 5 seconds.

Had B2 caught the ball and dribbled up the court, I also would not have called a violation.

Well, here we do have a violation. B2 receives ball from B1 OOB after made basket, then dribbles ball up the court. Failure to throw ball directly onto the court during a throw in.

Sorry there's no rulesbook quotes in here, but they're in the bag and Wednesday's my day off from games.
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2005, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
Learn the fundamentals

I realize that we all have "brain-farts" from time to time, but numerous comments throughout this thread have demonstrated misunderstandings of many fundamentals in basketball.

If you are struggling with these basic concepts I strongly urge you to spend more time reviewing definitions (Rule 4). I spend time in my rule book (and here in the forum) daily, so that I can improve my knowledge and understanding and application.

Best wishes to all and continue to strive for improvement!
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2005, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by tjones1
Quote:
Originally posted by TPS2859
One more time.... If it was a made basket, there is no "spot" throw in. Therfore if "a1" player is standing out of bounds and passes the ball to "a2" player who also is standing out of bounds, then no violation. BUT if "a1 passes the ball to "a2" who is in the air and coming directly from inbounds, then it is a violation. You are at the spot you left from untill you get to the spot to you are going to. Thus, one in mid air is concidered to be still at the point from which they left untill they get to the spot they land. This puts the ball inbounds, and when the player lands, making it out of bounds. Whoooow, get all that.
10-4! Sounds good.
Actually, Tanner, 10-4 is technicals. I don't think we need that in this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 20, 2005, 11:52am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Thanks Juulie!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1