|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Coach for A calls TO.  Partner blows whistle, A1 has the ball, as partner goes to administer the TO A1 takes a dribble or two then shoots a three pointer.  I called a T and we adminstered it.  My thought was we are supposed to prevent practice during a dead ball other than half and pregame.  In my mind it was clear that it was a T, but upon looking for rules support, I am not quite sure.  I have had kids shoot the ball just after a whistle before, but this was a looooong delay.  Not that it matters but his team was up 30 at the time... What says the board???
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			NFHS rule 2-7-4-- "The officials shall conduct the game in accordance with the rules.This includes prohibiting practice during a dead ball, except between halves". There's no penalty listed. Cmathews, under which rule did you assess the "T" without warning the player first? Or am I assuming wrong that you didn't warn the player first? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				JR no warning
			 
			
			I didn't warn him.  In my mind I used a combination of delay, and the dunking rule.  I am with you JR there is no specific penalty listed, so I guess I proabably kicked it.  As for the comments above about making the game better etc.  this game maybe not, but in the future, there won't be a problem from this team doing that...the coach told us that that was never going to be an issue again....
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Its been a while (since I've worked basketball) but doesn't it say something about failing to return the ball to an official in a timely fashion during a dead ball?  Just a thought for you guys to chew on and probably spit some good thoughts back out.
		 
				__________________ My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush | 
| 
 | ||||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ Sprinkles are for winners. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 The delay of game T, mentioned by Boomer, wouldn't even be appropriate because this action happened after a time-out was granted. 10-3-6b specifically says "when a violation or a foul is called." This is because the player's actions prevent the official from promptly administering the ensuing throw-in. This is not true after the game is stopped for a time-out. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 I don't chase balls during a game. If a player has the ball and sets it down on the floor for me to pick it up...nope... I don't think so...he or a teammate gets the ball. I tell them they are younger than me, so help me out. Mostly though, IMO it is out of respect for the officiating crew that a player gives the ball promptly to an official. 
				__________________ Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |