The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is the game over ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17689-game-over.html)

Mark Dexter Mon Jan 17, 2005 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2005 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Same old/same old!

This is the same situation basically that we've fought over several times already. We've also had supposedly different official interpretations given too. This is the one that had a near fight-to-the-death between BZ and MTD Sr. It's a timer's error. Doesn't matter either if the the official didn't chop time in or not. The timer is still authorized to start the clock- R5-9-1.

Nobody knows what the right answer should really be, by rule. That includes me too, Mark, which is why I'm not gonna waste any time getting into this one- again.

blindzebra Mon Jan 17, 2005 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Same old/same old!

This is the same situation basically that we've fought over several times already. We've also had supposedly different official interpretations given too. This is the one that had a near fight-to-the-death between BZ and MTD Sr. It's a timer's error. Doesn't matter either if the the official didn't chop time in or not. The timer is still authorized to start the clock- R5-9-1.

Nobody knows what the right answer should really be, by rule. That includes me too, Mark, which is why I'm not gonna waste any time getting into this one- again.

Yep, by rule, the timer is directed to start the clock when the official NEGLECTS to signal...per 5-9-2, 3, 4.

Which is very different than a certain poster's stance, that the timer should IGNORE the signal to start the clock, if that signal does not occur per rule 5-9-2, 3, 4.:D

w_sohl Mon Jan 17, 2005 04:16pm

Re: Dittos
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Team A's ball with .5 seconds. Speaking of chopping the clock, I was watching a college game last week. And I'm sure it isn't a mechanic --maybe it is--, anyways, the ball was OOB on the baseline and the trial had his hand up and chopped the clock in. I'm guessing he was just making sure the table didn't have to look through a bunch of people and was helping out his partner?
This is actually a proper mechanic on some in bounds plays where the table may be obstructed. I have been told this at several college camps.

davidw Mon Jan 17, 2005 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Same old/same old!

This is the same situation basically that we've fought over several times already. We've also had supposedly different official interpretations given too. This is the one that had a near fight-to-the-death between BZ and MTD Sr. It's a timer's error. Doesn't matter either if the the official didn't chop time in or not. The timer is still authorized to start the clock- R5-9-1.

Nobody knows what the right answer should really be, by rule. That includes me too, Mark, which is why I'm not gonna waste any time getting into this one- again.

I've not been here long but I do remember the thread you are referring to Jurrasic. I'm just a little curios if anyone has any info. as to whether the Federation or NCAA has addressed this issue. Especially considering the NBA directly addresses this issue and IMO, has it as it should be. Anyone?

ChuckElias Mon Jan 17, 2005 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This was from the NBA rules website:

NO LESS THAN :00.3 must expire on the game clock when a ball is thrown inbounds and then hit instantly out-of-bounds. If less than :00.3 expires in such a sit-uation, the timer will be instructed to deduct AT LEAST :00.3 from the game clock.

Well, poop. That shoots down what I was saying. And I was so sure. . . I wonder if that's changed since the catch-and-shoot rule was first adopted. I doubt it. Good catch, Mark. I haven't used the NBA rules in a few years. Guess I'm getting rusty :(

rainmaker Tue Jan 18, 2005 12:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Well, poop. ... Guess I\'m getting rusty :(
Sounds like the "poop-y" is getting to you!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1