The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Is the game over ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17689-game-over.html)

tnroundballref Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:58am

Had a weird play happen Friday night in three person crew. Here is the situation :

Team A trails by two points with .5 left on the clock with a spot throw in beneath B's basket (94 feet to go). T (administering throw in table side) L (underneath A's basket table side) C (near head of the circle in A's frontcourt opposite table).

B1 is guarding A1 on the throw in with all other A and B players in A's front court. The ball is whized down court and seems to go out of bounds untouched by either team, however lead gives the signal that it is still team A's ball because it was tipped in flight by a team B member right before it went OOB.The problem is that T never chopped the clock in because he thought the ball was not tipped. C didn't have a good look at the pass because he was watching action in the paint (screens, etc). We got together and L said the ball was tipped near the low block and went straight OOB (hit a wall).

Team A's coach wants the ball OOB with .5 left on the clock, Team B's coach says if the ball was tipped OOB the game should be over.

Have at it - I will post what we did later.

TriggerMN Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:13pm

Official screwed up. A's ball at the point where it went OOB with 0.5 seconds left.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:29pm

Agreed
 
A's ball at the point where it went OOB with 0.5 seconds left.

Adam Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:31pm

Not much you can do with the clock here. A gets the ball with .5 seconds, since you have no definite knowledge to justify changing the clock.

ChuckElias Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:44pm

While the answers given here are right for the HS game, this is where (once again), I think the NBA rule is better. In the NBA, anytime the ball is legally touched inbounds, a minimum of 0.2 seconds must come off the clock. The reasoning (which is correct, IMO) is that if the ball is touched, then the clock must start and stop.

In the original case of this thread, it's simply not fair to allow the throw-in team to advance the ball the entire length of the court with no time off the clock. But since in HS and NCAA, we don't have definite knowledge of how much should've come off, we can't do anyting about it. :(

rainmaker Mon Jan 17, 2005 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
While the answers given here are right for the HS game, this is where (once again), I think the NBA rule is better. In the NBA, anytime the ball is legally touched inbounds, a minimum of 0.2 seconds must come off the clock. The reasoning (which is correct, IMO) is that if the ball is touched, then the clock must start and stop.

In the original case of this thread, it's simply not fair to allow the throw-in team to advance the ball the entire length of the court with no time off the clock. But since in HS and NCAA, we don't have definite knowledge of how much should've come off, we can't do anyting about it. :(

Chuck -- Within the rules of hs, it's Team B that let the ball advance the length of the court. If they had not tipped it, it would be under their own basket.

Mark Dexter Mon Jan 17, 2005 01:04pm

Chuck - isn't the guideline that 0.3 or more must be taken off the clock in a tap-and-out situation? I.e., if 0.3 remains on the clock when this happens, the quarter/game is over?

Mark Dexter Mon Jan 17, 2005 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker


Chuck -- Within the rules of hs, it's Team B that let the ball advance the length of the court. If they had not tipped it, it would be under their own basket.

True - however, a tip like this should cause time to run out, meaning that if 0.5 remains on the clock, B has been put at a disadvantage.

ChuckElias Mon Jan 17, 2005 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Chuck - isn't the guideline that 0.3 or more must be taken off the clock in a tap-and-out situation? I.e., if 0.3 remains on the clock when this happens, the quarter/game is over?
In NCAA/FED, a catch-and-shoot cannot count if the clock shows 0.3 seconds or less at the beginning of the play. In the NBA, however, the rule is that 0.3 seconds is the minimum amount of time that is allowed for a catch-and-shoot. The correlary is that 0.2 seconds must elapse any time the ball is legally touched inbounds.

rainmaker Mon Jan 17, 2005 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
The correlary is ...
I can't believe that you spelled that wrong. Is Molly typing for you from dictation?

ChuckElias Mon Jan 17, 2005 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
The correlary is ...
I can't believe that you spelled that wrong. Is Molly typing for you from dictation?

No but the bleeping dog was crying and i didn't have time to double-check m-w.com.

tjones1 Mon Jan 17, 2005 02:03pm

Dittos
 
Team A's ball with .5 seconds. Speaking of chopping the clock, I was watching a college game last week. And I'm sure it isn't a mechanic --maybe it is--, anyways, the ball was OOB on the baseline and the trial had his hand up and chopped the clock in. I'm guessing he was just making sure the table didn't have to look through a bunch of people and was helping out his partner?

Mark Dexter Mon Jan 17, 2005 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Chuck - isn't the guideline that 0.3 or more must be taken off the clock in a tap-and-out situation? I.e., if 0.3 remains on the clock when this happens, the quarter/game is over?
In NCAA/FED, a catch-and-shoot cannot count if the clock shows 0.3 seconds or less at the beginning of the play. In the NBA, however, the rule is that 0.3 seconds is the minimum amount of time that is allowed for a catch-and-shoot. The correlary is that 0.2 seconds must elapse any time the ball is legally touched inbounds.

This was from the NBA rules website:

NO LESS THAN :00.3 must expire on the game clock when a ball is thrown inbounds and then hit instantly out-of-bounds. If less than :00.3 expires in such a sit-uation, the timer will be instructed to deduct AT LEAST :00.3 from the game clock.

I took this to mean 0.3 had to run off . . .

bob jenkins Mon Jan 17, 2005 02:23pm

Re: Dittos
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Team A's ball with .5 seconds. Speaking of chopping the clock, I was watching a college game last week. And I'm sure it isn't a mechanic --maybe it is--, anyways, the ball was OOB on the baseline and the trial had his hand up and chopped the clock in. I'm guessing he was just making sure the table didn't have to look through a bunch of people and was helping out his partner?
That is the mechanic in NCAAW games. It's sometimes used in NCAAM, especially if the throw-in goes to the T's area up top.


Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2005 02:47pm

Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?

Mark Dexter Mon Jan 17, 2005 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 17, 2005 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Same old/same old!

This is the same situation basically that we've fought over several times already. We've also had supposedly different official interpretations given too. This is the one that had a near fight-to-the-death between BZ and MTD Sr. It's a timer's error. Doesn't matter either if the the official didn't chop time in or not. The timer is still authorized to start the clock- R5-9-1.

Nobody knows what the right answer should really be, by rule. That includes me too, Mark, which is why I'm not gonna waste any time getting into this one- again.

blindzebra Mon Jan 17, 2005 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Same old/same old!

This is the same situation basically that we've fought over several times already. We've also had supposedly different official interpretations given too. This is the one that had a near fight-to-the-death between BZ and MTD Sr. It's a timer's error. Doesn't matter either if the the official didn't chop time in or not. The timer is still authorized to start the clock- R5-9-1.

Nobody knows what the right answer should really be, by rule. That includes me too, Mark, which is why I'm not gonna waste any time getting into this one- again.

Yep, by rule, the timer is directed to start the clock when the official NEGLECTS to signal...per 5-9-2, 3, 4.

Which is very different than a certain poster's stance, that the timer should IGNORE the signal to start the clock, if that signal does not occur per rule 5-9-2, 3, 4.:D

w_sohl Mon Jan 17, 2005 04:16pm

Re: Dittos
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Team A's ball with .5 seconds. Speaking of chopping the clock, I was watching a college game last week. And I'm sure it isn't a mechanic --maybe it is--, anyways, the ball was OOB on the baseline and the trial had his hand up and chopped the clock in. I'm guessing he was just making sure the table didn't have to look through a bunch of people and was helping out his partner?
This is actually a proper mechanic on some in bounds plays where the table may be obstructed. I have been told this at several college camps.

davidw Mon Jan 17, 2005 07:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Can anybody cite me a rule to back up their answer as to where the ball goes for the throw-in and how much time should be on the clock?
Well, assuming the L is correct, and the ball was tipped . . .

For the spot - 7-5-2 - after any violation, the ball is awarded at the designated OOB spot.

As to the clock, this is a timing mistake, and 5-10 applies here - in order to correct the clock, the mistake must be obvious, and the R must have definite information about how much time should have run off. Since we're not sure how long the tip-and-out took, no time can be deducted, and we (unfortunately) have to stay with 5/10ths.

Same old/same old!

This is the same situation basically that we've fought over several times already. We've also had supposedly different official interpretations given too. This is the one that had a near fight-to-the-death between BZ and MTD Sr. It's a timer's error. Doesn't matter either if the the official didn't chop time in or not. The timer is still authorized to start the clock- R5-9-1.

Nobody knows what the right answer should really be, by rule. That includes me too, Mark, which is why I'm not gonna waste any time getting into this one- again.

I've not been here long but I do remember the thread you are referring to Jurrasic. I'm just a little curios if anyone has any info. as to whether the Federation or NCAA has addressed this issue. Especially considering the NBA directly addresses this issue and IMO, has it as it should be. Anyone?

ChuckElias Mon Jan 17, 2005 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
This was from the NBA rules website:

NO LESS THAN :00.3 must expire on the game clock when a ball is thrown inbounds and then hit instantly out-of-bounds. If less than :00.3 expires in such a sit-uation, the timer will be instructed to deduct AT LEAST :00.3 from the game clock.

Well, poop. That shoots down what I was saying. And I was so sure. . . I wonder if that's changed since the catch-and-shoot rule was first adopted. I doubt it. Good catch, Mark. I haven't used the NBA rules in a few years. Guess I'm getting rusty :(

rainmaker Tue Jan 18, 2005 12:05am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Well, poop. ... Guess I'm getting rusty :(
Sounds like the "poop-y" is getting to you!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1