The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 18, 2005, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Jim,
As others have told you the proper procedure is to disqualify B1 BEFORE the 1-and-1 is administered and his replacement will shoot for him.

However, I thought that I would point out a nuance for your edification and amusement since it happened to a friend of mine.

Same play as yours, but the scorer fails to notify the officials that the T is B1's fifth foul until after she has shot AND MADE both FTs due to the personal foul.
By rule, B1's points stand in this case. Since the officials did not inform the coach, B1 was never disqualified. (4-14-2) You will find this stated in 2-11-11 Note 2.

Sadly, my friend thought that it was a correctable error (wrong player shooting) and wiped out the points and reshot the FTs with the substitute, who missed them both.
We got to tease him about it for quite a while though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1