![]() |
|
|||
"Hand is part of the ball" is announcer-speak, and not part of the rule book. What the rules state, essentially, is that contact with the hand is permitted by a defender making a play on the ball, while the ball is in contact with the hand.
I don't have my NFHS book handy, but from the NCAA rule book: Section 34. Hands and Arms, Use of Art. 2. It shall be legal for a defender to accidentally hit the hand of a ball-handler when reaching to block or slap the ball when there is player control with that playerÂ’s hand in contact with the ball and when that player is a: a. Dribbler b. Player attempting a try for field goal, or c. Player holding the ball. |
Bookmarks |
|
|