The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2005, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
I agree with Mark, in a sense....shoot me now.

You can not have a block and a charge at the same time. Torso-to-torso contact is the same contact...it can only be one thing. The casebook play is to cover the situation when two officials disagree about which it is.

However, you can have a player control foul (not a charge) and a block, hold, hit, etc. at the same time.
  • A1 hooks B1 at the same time as B1 smack A1 in the face.
  • A1 runs into B1's extended knee as A1 stiffarms B1 in the shoulder.

    Remember that double fouls occur at "approximately" the same time, not exactly the same time.
  • Read 4-7-2 again:

    Charging is illegal personal contact caused by PUSHING or moving into an opponent's torso.

    It does not say torso to torso contact, a chicken wing clear out IS A CHARGE by definition.
    Reply With Quote
     

    Bookmarks


    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32pm.



    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1