The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2005, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally posted by eventnyc
BktBallRef said that
"The case play doesn't differ. In Play (c), there's simply a shot. The play does not say the shot goes in. Therefore, it's just a shot and the AP rule applies. If the shot is in the air and goes in, play resumes with Team B getting the ball, just as it does in Play (d)."

In other words, the interpretation on (c) is that the whistle does NOT cause the ball to become dead. Score the goal and play on with a throw-in anywhere along the baseline by Team B. I was under the impression that the whistle killed the play. It would make sense, however, the case book doesn't specify anything about a goal being scored. Perhaps the wording in (d) should read "while the shot was in the air or after A1's try had gone through the cylinder for a successful field goal.

Are we interpreting this correctly?
Sounds like we need a case play to clarify this case play.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1