The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 13, 2005, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by eventnyc
I thought so as well, however, the case book 7.5.4 differs. An official sounds his/her whistle accidentally:

a) while A1 is dribbling and in player control
b) while Team A is in control and passing among teammates
c) while A1's try attempt is in flight and there is neither player nor team control
d) after A1's try had gone through the cylinder for a successful field goal

RULING: The ball is put in play in (a) and (b), by team A with a throw-in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where the ball was when the whistle was accidentlly sounded.

In (c) the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the AP procedure.

In (d), even though by rule, there is no team control during this dead ball period, the ball would be gived to Team B for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. Team B would have clearly received the ball had the official not accidentally sounded the whistle.

Hope this helps!
The case play doesn't differ. In Play (c), there's simply a shot. The play does not say the shot goes in. Therefore, it's just a shot and the AP rule applies.

If the shot is in the air and goes in, play resumes with Team B getting the ball, just as it does in Play (d).
That's twice and 2 days you've agreed with me.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1