The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2005, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
If B1 had control and then released the ball to the floor you have a pass/start of a dribble, and thus an interrupted dribble.

B1 may re-enter and continue her dribble or gather the ball. If she gathers the ball and dribbles it is an illegal dribble(double dribble).

If she saved or batted the ball forward WITHOUT controlling it first, she may re-enter and do whatever she wants.
BZ,
I agree with your last item. However on the first two, it sounds like you are calling this a dribble and a dribbler cannot step out of bounds - that's a violation. 9-3 Note.

However, this sounds like it was not controlled (5 or 6 steps) and in that case I would let her regain inbounds status, gather the ball with two hands if needed, and/or start dribbling.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1