The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 11, 2005, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by ridavis13
B1 steals the ball from A1 near the sideline. B1 while losing her balance pushes the ball forward toward her basket. In an attempt to regain her balance she steps out of bounds. She returns to the court and after 5 or 6 steps is the first to touch the ball. I have asked a number of officials about this play an have received different interpretations. I did not stop play. I know that the rule reads if you voluntarily step out of bounds you can not be the first to touch the ball. Level of play was NCAA womens.
If B1 had control and then released the ball to the floor you have a pass/start of a dribble, and thus an interrupted dribble.

B1 may re-enter and continue her dribble or gather the ball. If she gathers the ball and dribbles it is an illegal dribble(double dribble).

If she saved or batted the ball forward WITHOUT controlling it first, she may re-enter and do whatever she wants.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1