The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket good...? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17350-basket-good.html)

bob jenkins Tue Jan 04, 2005 09:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Okay.
What about this sequence?

1. A1. Jumps and shoots.
2. A1 shoves B1 as he lands on him. Intentional foul.
3. Ball goes in the hoop.

I know we have two free throws for B1, with the ball OOB at the spot. However. Does the shot count?

If it's not a PC foul (that is, it's an intentional or flagrant personal foul or a technical foul, rather than a common foul), then the basket counts.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by thumpferee

In NFHS, penalize the fouls/violations in the order in which they occur. There is only one situation where a basket would count on a PC foul, which I hope was proven by case play 4.19.6.

Sorry, but NO WAY! In fact, the very case play that you cite, 4.19.6 Situation C, continues on to state, "A defensive-goaltending or basket-interference violation committed prior to a player-control foul does not contradict the general statement that when a player-control foul occurs that player cannot score. In the case of a defensive violation, it is the violation which results in awarding the score."

Can we stop this silliness now?
Since you also posted this EXACT SAME QUESTION back on Nov. 27, 2004 citing the SAME case play and were told that the points are AWARDED way back then by Tony.
http://www.officialforum.com/thread/16648

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 5th, 2005 at 07:03 AM]

Nevadaref Wed Jan 05, 2005 12:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Okay.
What about this sequence?

1. A1. Jumps and shoots.
2. A1 shoves B1 as he lands on him. Intentional foul.
3. Ball goes in the hoop.

I know we have two free throws for B1, with the ball OOB at the spot. However. Does the shot count?

If it's not a PC foul (that is, it's an intentional or flagrant personal foul or a technical foul, rather than a common foul), then the basket counts.

This is strange, but TRUE.
As Bob says it is because this foul is not a COMMON foul and the definition of a player-control foul in 4-19-6 says, "a player-control foul is a common foul..."

Also there is Case Book play 4.19.6 situation D:
"Is it possible for airborne shooter A1 to commit a foul which would not be player control? RULING: Yes. The airborne shooter could be charged with an intentional or flagrant personal foul or with a technical foul."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1