The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Clock started too early. How to correct? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17333-clock-started-too-early-how-correct.html)

blindzebra Mon Jan 03, 2005 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
By what rule reference are we giving the ball to team A or B based on a rebound? The horn sounded with no team control, I would say this would have to go to the AP arrow with .4 back on the clock.
MTD and Tony are talking about the case in which either A1 or B1 catches the rebound just before time expires. Therefore, when the whistle is blown there is team control.

The post that I made earlier handled what to do if the ball is still coming off the ring DURING the rebound and you notice that the clock is already running. That one is AP.

I don't wish to speak for MTD or Tony, but it seems to me that all of us are basing our rulings on 7.5.4 and 6-4-3e.

Thanks, looks like we need another case play ruling for this one. I guess we are ignoring 6-7-6 because it's a timer's error.

I agree that if we have a seguence of ball hitting rim, clock starting, rebound, HORN, whistle, then yes it would go to the rebounding team. I have trouble doing that with a seguence of hit, clock, HORN, rebound, whistle.

Just like the 2.8 case we do not have a case play under timer's error that fits this situation.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 03, 2005 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
By what rule reference are we giving the ball to team A or B based on a rebound? The horn sounded with no team control, I would say this would have to go to the AP arrow with .4 back on the clock.
MTD and Tony are talking about the case in which either A1 or B1 catches the rebound just before time expires. Therefore, when the whistle is blown there is team control.

The post that I made earlier handled what to do if the ball is still coming off the ring DURING the rebound and you notice that the clock is already running. That one is AP.

I don't wish to speak for MTD or Tony, but it seems to me that all of us are basing our rulings on 7.5.4 and 6-4-3e.

Thanks, looks like we need another case play ruling for this one. I guess we are ignoring 6-7-6 because it's a timer's error.

I agree that if we have a seguence of ball hitting rim, clock starting, rebound, HORN, whistle, then yes it would go to the rebounding team. I have trouble doing that with a seguence of hit, clock, HORN, rebound, whistle.

Just like the 2.8 case we do not have a case play under timer's error that fits this situation.




BANG!! BANG!! BANG!!

That is the sound of me banging my head against a brick wall.

MTD, Sr.

blindzebra Mon Jan 03, 2005 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
By what rule reference are we giving the ball to team A or B based on a rebound? The horn sounded with no team control, I would say this would have to go to the AP arrow with .4 back on the clock.
MTD and Tony are talking about the case in which either A1 or B1 catches the rebound just before time expires. Therefore, when the whistle is blown there is team control.

The post that I made earlier handled what to do if the ball is still coming off the ring DURING the rebound and you notice that the clock is already running. That one is AP.

I don't wish to speak for MTD or Tony, but it seems to me that all of us are basing our rulings on 7.5.4 and 6-4-3e.

Thanks, looks like we need another case play ruling for this one. I guess we are ignoring 6-7-6 because it's a timer's error.

I agree that if we have a seguence of ball hitting rim, clock starting, rebound, HORN, whistle, then yes it would go to the rebounding team. I have trouble doing that with a seguence of hit, clock, HORN, rebound, whistle.

Just like the 2.8 case we do not have a case play under timer's error that fits this situation.




BANG!! BANG!! BANG!!

That is the sound of me banging my head against a brick wall.

MTD, Sr.

That could explain why you make up so many interpretations without rule support.:D

Point to a rule or case play that supports your ruling of giving the ball to a team that gained control AFTER the game ended incorrectly.

This is where I bang my head against the wall.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 03, 2005 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
By what rule reference are we giving the ball to team A or B based on a rebound? The horn sounded with no team control, I would say this would have to go to the AP arrow with .4 back on the clock.
MTD and Tony are talking about the case in which either A1 or B1 catches the rebound just before time expires. Therefore, when the whistle is blown there is team control.

The post that I made earlier handled what to do if the ball is still coming off the ring DURING the rebound and you notice that the clock is already running. That one is AP.

I don't wish to speak for MTD or Tony, but it seems to me that all of us are basing our rulings on 7.5.4 and 6-4-3e.

Thanks, looks like we need another case play ruling for this one. I guess we are ignoring 6-7-6 because it's a timer's error.

I agree that if we have a seguence of ball hitting rim, clock starting, rebound, HORN, whistle, then yes it would go to the rebounding team. I have trouble doing that with a seguence of hit, clock, HORN, rebound, whistle.

Just like the 2.8 case we do not have a case play under timer's error that fits this situation.




BANG!! BANG!! BANG!!

That is the sound of me banging my head against a brick wall.

MTD, Sr.

That could explain why you make up so many interpretations without rule support.:D

Point to a rule or case play that supports your ruling of giving the ball to a team that gained control AFTER the game ended incorrectly.

This is where I bang my head against the wall.


BZ:

You do NOT know the rule NOR do you know how to apply it.

MTD, Sr.

blindzebra Mon Jan 03, 2005 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
By what rule reference are we giving the ball to team A or B based on a rebound? The horn sounded with no team control, I would say this would have to go to the AP arrow with .4 back on the clock.
MTD and Tony are talking about the case in which either A1 or B1 catches the rebound just before time expires. Therefore, when the whistle is blown there is team control.

The post that I made earlier handled what to do if the ball is still coming off the ring DURING the rebound and you notice that the clock is already running. That one is AP.

I don't wish to speak for MTD or Tony, but it seems to me that all of us are basing our rulings on 7.5.4 and 6-4-3e.

Thanks, looks like we need another case play ruling for this one. I guess we are ignoring 6-7-6 because it's a timer's error.

I agree that if we have a seguence of ball hitting rim, clock starting, rebound, HORN, whistle, then yes it would go to the rebounding team. I have trouble doing that with a seguence of hit, clock, HORN, rebound, whistle.

Just like the 2.8 case we do not have a case play under timer's error that fits this situation.




BANG!! BANG!! BANG!!

That is the sound of me banging my head against a brick wall.

MTD, Sr.

That could explain why you make up so many interpretations without rule support.:D

Point to a rule or case play that supports your ruling of giving the ball to a team that gained control AFTER the game ended incorrectly.

This is where I bang my head against the wall.


BZ:

You do NOT know the rule NOR do you know how to apply it.

MTD, Sr.

Which rule? Which case play? Where does it say to give the ball to the team that gains possession AFTER the horn.

You want to be a smart a$$, but you still have not given a rules reference.;)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 03, 2005 02:05pm

BZ:

We have gone down this road before. I have presented all the appropriate rules, casebook plays, and approved rulings. But you insist on wanting to do something that the rules do not allow.

That is why is why it is like banging my head against a brick wall with you.

Have a Happy New Year and I hope you do not get into a situation where you attempt to apply the rules incorrectly and get yourself in water over your head.

MTD, Sr.

blindzebra Mon Jan 03, 2005 02:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
BZ:

We have gone down this road before. I have presented all the appropriate rules, casebook plays, and approved rulings. But you insist on wanting to do something that the rules do not allow.

That is why is why it is like banging my head against a brick wall with you.

Have a Happy New Year and I hope you do not get into a situation where you attempt to apply the rules incorrectly and get yourself in water over your head.

MTD, Sr.

Really, what rule and/or case play have you quoted in THIS thread?

Or are you talking about your "official" ruling that subtracts .4 seconds by guess-work in the 2.8 play?

Or does your post just need translation?

Translation:

MTD can't support it by rule, so he is ignoring the question.:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1