![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The AP Arrow is not pointing toward the correct basket is not a Correctable Error. But there is a way to correct the situation and it must be corrected before the AP Throw-in ends. The play in this post is a good example of what Coach A did correctly. The rules allow Coach A to go to the Scorer's/Timer's Table and request at timeout to ask that a Correctable Error be corrected, and he is allowed this same privilege if the AP Arrow is not correct. In the posted play, the Scorer (the visible AP Arrow is official; the Scorer's written account of the AP Arrow is official) sound have notified the Game Officials immediately upon Coach A's request concerning the AP Arrow. If the Game Officials found that the AP Arrow was indeed incorrect, the AP Arrow is corrected and Team A is awarded the AP Throw-in. If the the AP Arrow was correct, then Team A is charged with at team timeout, and if there is any remaining time left they are entitled to use it. But the deadline to correct and mistake in the AP Arrow is before the AP Throw-in ends. Therefore in the posted play, if the mistake is not discovered until after Team B completes its AP Throw-in, then the AP Arrow is left pointing toward Team A's basket and Team A will receive the next AP Throw-in. A team shall not receive two consecutive AP Throw-ins. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|