The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 30, 2004, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally posted by joseph2493

OK, on that note. It is written into the traveling rules that "if one foot is on the floor the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both." 4-43-2b2
Joseph: Now what are you trying to say? Although the jump stop is described as legal in the travel rule, it has nothing to do with the backcourt violation. A jump stop can be considered an "abnormal" landing simply because it has its own name to describe it.

In your play (as everyone has been telling you) the airborne player does not make a normal landing, therefore he has violated. If you want to allow it, that's up to you. Luckily it rarely happens so you won't be wrong too often. Snaqwells, you started all of this.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1