![]() |
This happened is boy's varsity game the other night. I will try to describe so it makes sense. A1 has ball in frontcourt. B1 taps it away (toward half court). Both chase, B1 dives for ball and retrieves it with half of his body in his frontcourt and half in his backcourt. Before he picked it up it bounced once in his frontcourt. From his position on the floor he passes to B2 in his backcourt.
Seems to meet the 4 criteria for a backcourt violation, except not sure if there must be team control before the ball achieves frontcourt status. Opinions please. |
Where was his feet when it established control?
|
He was laying on the floor, waist up in his frontcourt, waist down in his backcourt.
|
I say he can pass in backcourt with no violation.
|
I agree ~ no violation.
|
Quote:
No violation. |
The ball never has frontcourt status here.
The player catches the ball while touching both the frontcourt and the backcourt. The player has backcourt status when he touches both, so the ball has backcourt status as well. Team control is established at this point. The player then bounces the ball. This is a dribble, so the status of the ball is governed by the "three points" rule. All of the player and the ball need to be in the frontcourt for the ball to attain frontcourt status during a dribble. This doesn't happen. The player now passes to a teammate in the backcourt. No violation. |
Simple rule here and it applies most of the time
If youre not completely in the front court then youre in the back court. Same is true if youre completely Inbounds then youre not OOB. My suggestion. dont make things harder than they are |
BktBallRef, that is what I was not sure of. I knew his status was still backcourt since he was not completely over. I just did not know that the fact that the ball bounced in the frontcourt before he got control made a difference.
1st two point for backcourt violation are team control and ball must achieve frontcourt status. Question was must control come 1st? |
Quote:
The team control must exist when the ball has FC status before it can be a violation. Only then do the last to touch/first to to element matter. |
Quote:
On a throw in, A1 throws a bounce pass to A2, who is standing in the back court. The pass first bounces in the front court before A2 catches it in the BC. No violation. Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15pm. |