The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Weird Backcourt Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17204-weird-backcourt-question.html)

JLC Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:28pm

This happened is boy's varsity game the other night. I will try to describe so it makes sense. A1 has ball in frontcourt. B1 taps it away (toward half court). Both chase, B1 dives for ball and retrieves it with half of his body in his frontcourt and half in his backcourt. Before he picked it up it bounced once in his frontcourt. From his position on the floor he passes to B2 in his backcourt.
Seems to meet the 4 criteria for a backcourt violation, except not sure if there must be team control before the ball achieves frontcourt status. Opinions please.

OFISHE8 Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:31pm

Where was his feet when it established control?

JLC Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:33pm

He was laying on the floor, waist up in his frontcourt, waist down in his backcourt.

OFISHE8 Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:39pm

I say he can pass in backcourt with no violation.

Blackhawk357 Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:44pm

I agree ~ no violation.

BktBallRef Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JLC
This happened is boy's varsity game the other night. I will try to describe so it makes sense. A1 has ball in frontcourt. B1 taps it away (toward half court). Both chase, B1 dives for ball and retrieves it with half of his body in his frontcourt and half in his backcourt. Before he picked it up it bounced once in his frontcourt. From his position on the floor he passes to B2 in his backcourt.
Seems to meet the 4 criteria for a backcourt violation, except not sure if there must be team control before the ball achieves frontcourt status. Opinions please.

There's no team control until he's on the floor, holding the ball. When he does, he's in the BC.

No violation.

Lotto Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:49pm

The ball never has frontcourt status here.

The player catches the ball while touching both the frontcourt and the backcourt. The player has backcourt status when he touches both, so the ball has backcourt status as well. Team control is established at this point.

The player then bounces the ball. This is a dribble, so the status of the ball is governed by the "three points" rule. All of the player and the ball need to be in the frontcourt for the ball to attain frontcourt status during a dribble. This doesn't happen.

The player now passes to a teammate in the backcourt. No violation.

Kelvin green Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:50pm

Simple rule here and it applies most of the time

If youre not completely in the front court then youre in the back court.

Same is true if youre completely Inbounds then youre not OOB.


My suggestion. dont make things harder than they are

JLC Thu Dec 23, 2004 04:59pm

BktBallRef, that is what I was not sure of. I knew his status was still backcourt since he was not completely over. I just did not know that the fact that the ball bounced in the frontcourt before he got control made a difference.
1st two point for backcourt violation are team control and ball must achieve frontcourt status. Question was must control come 1st?

Camron Rust Thu Dec 23, 2004 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JLC
BktBallRef, that is what I was not sure of. I knew his status was still backcourt since he was not completely over. I just did not know that the fact that the ball bounced in the frontcourt before he got control made a difference.
1st two point for backcourt violation are team control and ball must achieve frontcourt status. Question was must control come 1st?


The team control must exist when the ball has FC status before it can be a violation.

Only then do the last to touch/first to to element matter.

Adam Thu Dec 23, 2004 09:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JLC
BktBallRef, that is what I was not sure of. I knew his status was still backcourt since he was not completely over. I just did not know that the fact that the ball bounced in the frontcourt before he got control made a difference.
1st two point for backcourt violation are team control and ball must achieve frontcourt status. Question was must control come 1st?

Think about it this way.
On a throw in, A1 throws a bounce pass to A2, who is standing in the back court. The pass first bounces in the front court before A2 catches it in the BC. No violation.
Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Lotto Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

rainmaker Thu Dec 23, 2004 10:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
The team control must exist when the ball has FC status before it can be a violation.
Until there's team control by A, there is, in effect, no A backcourt or frontcourt. So the ball bounced in B's frontcourt, but that's not A's backcourt, until A has team control.

Adam Thu Dec 23, 2004 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

A1 has established team control by virtue of having player control. When the ball hits the frontcourt on a bounce pass, the ball gains fc status and team control is maintained by A. Thus, team control has now been established in the front court.

nine01c Thu Dec 23, 2004 11:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

Lotto: I'm not sure what these players did (maybe A1 put a good spin on the ball so it hit in frontcourt and bounded into the backcourt. Even so, Team A (nor Team B) does not have control on a throw-in, until one A player gains player control. So, it can theoretically bounce from front to back to front to back (being tipped or batted) and still not be in any Team's control until a player holds or dribbles the ball. There is no frontcourt status just because the ball bounced there. No violation in your play.

BktBallRef Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

No, no, no, no, no. This is not a BC violation. There was no team control when the ball bounced in the FC.

Adam Fri Dec 24, 2004 12:03am

nine01c,
I think Lotto's play is not referring to a throwin, but the ball is already inbounds.
"Inbounds" here is an adjective, not a verb. :D

I read it the same way you did, the first time.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 24, 2004 02:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

Lotto: I'm not sure what these players did (maybe A1 put a good spin on the ball so it hit in frontcourt and bounded into the backcourt. Even so, Team A (nor Team B) does not have control on a throw-in, until one A player gains player control. So, it can theoretically bounce from front to back to front to back (being tipped or batted) and still not be in any Team's control until a player holds or dribbles the ball. There is no frontcourt status just because the ball bounced there. No violation in your play.

I think you misread Lotto's play. The pass originated from a player holding the ball inbounds...not a throwin.

Camron Rust Fri Dec 24, 2004 02:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

No, no, no, no, no. This is not a BC violation. There was no team control when the ball bounced in the FC.

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes. This is a BC violation. A1 threw the ball from a location inbounds in the backcourt. If A1 threw the ball, he had player and team control on the throw.

If you read the inbounds as a verb then A1 was what A2 caught. Hope A1 was not too heavy.


Adam Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

No, no, no, no, no. This is not a BC violation. There was no team control when the ball bounced in the FC.

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes. This is a BC violation. A1 threw the ball from a location inbounds in the backcourt. If A1 threw the ball, he had player and team control on the throw.

If you read the inbounds as a verb then A1 was what A2 caught. Hope A1 was not too heavy.


Yes, it is a violation; but there is also team control established in the front court, even if there was never player control established in the front court.

Nevadaref Sat Dec 25, 2004 03:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

A1 has established team control by virtue of having player control. When the ball hits the frontcourt on a bounce pass, the ball gains fc status and team control is maintained by A. Thus, team control has now been established in the front court.

Good job, Snaqwells.
Lotto, you're also incorrect on this statement: "The ball never has frontcourt status here." JLC specified, "Before he picked it up it bounced once in his frontcourt."
In NFHS play the ball has a status of its own if a player is not holding or dribbling it. 4-4-3

Lotto Sat Dec 25, 2004 06:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref

Lotto, you're also incorrect on this statement: "The ball never has frontcourt status here." JLC specified, "Before he picked it up it bounced once in his frontcourt."
In NFHS play the ball has a status of its own if a player is not holding or dribbling it. 4-4-3

You're right...I misread the original play. (I thought *he* bounced the ball in the frontcourt, not *it* bounced in the frontcourt.)



BktBallRef Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells

Team control must be established in the front court for the violation to occur.

Not true. A1, inbounds in the backcourt, throws a bounce pass which first bounces in the frontcourt, then is caught by A2 in the backcourt. This is a violation, even though A never had control in the frontcourt.

No, no, no, no, no. This is not a BC violation. There was no team control when the ball bounced in the FC.

Yes, yes, yes, yes, yes. This is a BC violation. A1 threw the ball from a location inbounds in the backcourt. If A1 threw the ball, he had player and team control on the throw.

If you read the inbounds as a verb then A1 was what A2 caught. Hope A1 was not too heavy.


My error. His description made it sound like a throw-in to me, which would seem like a legit interp to me.

hardwdref Sun Dec 26, 2004 07:10pm

What if team A has possession, ball is tipped by B2 hit's A1's leg goes back court, A2 retrieve's it? or team A in control, both A2 & B2 deflect the ball backcourt, & A2 retrieves it? thanks!

BktBallRef Sun Dec 26, 2004 07:24pm

In your first scenario, it's a violation.

In the second, if both players' touched it simultaneously, I would call a violation. But I've never read a specific inerp on such a play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1